Kinnaird Head Castle and Lighthouse

Toggle location map

Castle Terrace, Fraserburgh, AB43 9DU

Explore a fine castle turned lighthouse. Built for the Fraser family in the 1500s, Kinnaird Head was altered in 1787 to contain the first lighthouse built by the Northern Lighthouse Board.

 

What to see and do

  • Enjoy a good climb to the top of Stevenson’s spiral staircase
  • Stand beside the lantern and stare out at the rocky coastline and stormy North Sea over which it served as a beacon
  • Look into the silvered copper parabolic bowls of the lantern, once lit by burning oil from the head of the sperm whale
  • Take a short walk to the Museum of Scottish Lighthouses to discover the secrets of Scotland’s lighthouses

 

 

  • Opening Times
    1 April - 31 October 10am - 5pm
    1 November - 29 March 10am - 4:30pm. Closed Mon.
  • Facilities
    • Toilets
    • Gift Shop
    • Child Friendly
    • Parking
    • Coach parking
  • Accessibility
    • Disabled Access

You Might Also Like

x

Go to itinerary